SAAS-FEE

Traffic-free village with superb walking amongst spectacular scenery

Beautifully positioned with a magnificent backdrop of snow-dusted peaks and cool blue glaciers; Saas-Fee is a picturesque traffic-free mountain resort retaining the charm of its rural past, with narrow winding streets and sun-worn houses and barns. The walking possibilities are endless and the free use of most retort lifts and local buses for all guests make it easy to explore this beautiful area. Several cable-cars and chairlifts take you up above the village for spectacular views and higher walking paths, many above the treeline. A must is a ride on the Metro Alpin, the world’s highest underground funicular railway, to stop for a delicious lunch at the top of Mittelallalin for superb 360 degree views.

Saas-Fee is the main village in the Saastal, or the Saas Valley, and is a municipality in the district of Visp in the canton of Valais in Switzerland. Up until the 14th century there was only one community in the Saas Valley: Saas. Four villages arose out of Saas – of those four Saas-Fee, also known as “The Pearl of the Alps”, is the most renowned. Thirteen 4000 meter peaks surround the glacier village, which is located at an altitude of 1800 meters above sea level.

In addition there are around 350 km of walking paths and numerous themed trails, it is extraordinary to encounter the tame marmots. The Saas valley also has a 70km-long network of mountain-bike tracks and a 5km-long push-scooter route.

Book Your Active Holiday Now

Good to know

Country

Canton

Languages Spoken

Currency

Area

Height

Population

Switzerland
Canton of Upper Valais
German (official language) & Valais Swiss German (dialect)
CHF (Swiss franc)
40,57 km2
1798 m above sea level (5898 ft above sea level)
1’675 (2008)

Country

Switzerland

Canton

Canton of Upper Valais

Languages Spoken

German (official language) & Valais Swiss German (dialect)

Currency

CHF (Swiss franc)

Area

40,57 km2

Height

1798 m above sea level (5898 ft above sea level)

Population

1’675 (2008)

See More Details

In Saas-Fee the sun is shining 80% of the days.

Another thing that makes Saas-Fee a charming place is the architecture. Don’t expect big ski condos, but chalets and apartments that are built in the typical Swiss style. Across the entire town you’ll find some old farmer’s barns that give you the feeling you’re in real Switzerland.

Are you a sucker for the sond “Last Christmas” by WHAM? In that case you’ll definitely want to go to Saas-Fee, because the famous chairlift of the videoclip was shot in this town.

SAAS-FEE

Verkehrsfreies Dorf mit herrlichen Spaziergängen inmitten spektakulärer Landschaften

Saas-Fee ist ein malerisches, verkehrsfreies Bergresort mit einer herrlichen Kulisse aus schneebedeckten Gipfeln und kühlen, blauen Gletschern. Seinen Charme der ländlichen Vergangenheit bewahrt es gekonnt und bietet enge, verwinkelte Gassen sowie sonnenverwöhnte Häuser und Scheunen. Die Wandermöglichkeiten sind endlos und die kostenlose Nutzung der meisten Retortenliste und lokalen Busse für alle Gäste machen es einfach, diese wunderschöne Gegend zu erkunden. Mehrere Seilbahnen und Sessellifte bringen dich über das Dorf und bieten spektakuläre Ausblicke und höhere Wanderwege; viele davon oberhalb der Baumgrenze. Ein absolutes Muss ist die Fahrt mit der Metro Alpin, der höchsten U-Bahn der Welt, um ein köstliches Mittagessen auf dem Gipfel des Mittelallalins mit herrlichem 360-Grad-Blick einzulegen.

Saas-Fee ist das Hauptdorf im Saas-Tal und der Gemeinde im Bezirk Visp im Kanton Wallis der Schweiz. Bis zum 14. Jahrhundert gab es im Saas-Tal nur eine Gemeinde: Saas. Daraus entstanden vier Dörfer, wovon Saas-Fee auch benannt als «Perle der Alpen» und durchaus das Bekannteste ist. 13 Viertausend-Meter-Gipfel umgeben das Gletscherdorf, das sich auf einer Höhe von 1800 Metern über dem Meeresspiegel befindet.

Neben rund 350 km Wanderwegen und zahlreichen Themenwegen bietet es eine aussergewöhnliche Begegnungsmöglichkeit mit den zahmen Murmeltieren. Das Saas-Tag verfügt ausserdem über ein 70 km langes Netz von Mountainbike-Strecken und eine 5 km lange Push-Scooter-Route.

Buche deine aktiven Ferien jetzt

Gut zu wissen

Land

Kanton

Sprachen

Währung

Fläche

Höhe

Bevölkerung

Schweiz
Oberwallis
Deutsch (offizielle Sprache) - Walliser-Deutsch (Dialekt)
CHF (Schweizer Franken)
438,6 KM2
1798 m.ü.M.
1’675 (2008)

Land

Schweiz

Kanton

Oberwallis

Sprachen

Deutsch (offizielle Sprache) - Walliser-Deutsch (Dialekt)

Währung

CHF (Schweizer Franken)

Fläche

438,6 KM2

Höhe

1798 m.ü.M.

Bevölkerung

1’675 (2008)

Mehr Details

In Saas-Fee scheint zu 80 % aller Tage die Sonne.

Eine andere Sache, welche Saas-Fee zu einem charmanten Ort macht ist die Architektur. Erwarte keine grossen Ski-Eigentumswohnungen, sondern Chalets und Apartments im typischen, schweizerischen Stil. Überall im Dorf gibt es alte Bauernscheunen, die einem das Gefühl geben, in der «echten» Schweiz zu sein.

Magst du «Last Christmas» von WHAM? In diesem Fall möchtest du unbedingt nach Saas-Fee, da hier der berühmte Sessellift des Videoclips gedreht wurde.

Make memories with us