MALLORCA

Beautiful coastline, secluded coves, limestone mountains, Spanish architecture, wineries, fresh produce farms and stunning beaches

Mallorca (also Majorca) is a Spanish island in the western Mediterranean, which belongs to the autonomous archipelago of the Balearic Islands. This island is part of the European Union. 180 bays are spread fairly evenly along the coast of the island. In the northwest, the Serra de Tramuntana mountain range extends for about 90 km. The mountains boast an impressive 11 peaks over 1000m. The highest mountain is called Puig Major and is 1’445 m high.

The climate in Mallorca is subtropical with warm to hot summers and mild winters. Almost 50 % of the island’s population live in the island’s capital Palma de Mallorca.

Everyone is surprised by the transparency of the sea on the Mallorcan coast, but do you know why? The seabed of the island is rich in cynical Posidonia, an alga that oxygenates the water making it much more transparent. A paradise for snorkelers and swimmers.
In 2015 Times magazine chose Palma as the world’s best city to live in.

Book Your Active Holiday Now

Good to know

COUNTRY

Canton

Languages Spoken

CURRENCY

AREA

POPULATION

Spain
Balearic Islands
Catalan (official language) - Mallorqui (dialect) - Castillian Spanish (second official language)
EUR (Euro)
3'603 KM2
923’608 (2019)

Country

Spain

Canton

Balearic Islands

Languages Spoken

Catalan (official language) - Mallorqui (dialect) - Castillian Spanish (second official language)

Currency

EUR (Euro)

Area

3'603 KM2

Population

923’608 (2019)

More Details

Mallorca is home to Ensaimadas, which is a local pastry only available on the island.

There are many large and spectacular cave systems on the island, with the Cuevas del Drach in Porto Cristo being the most famous. These caves were first explored in the late 1800s and contain Europe’s largest underground lade (also one of the largest in the world).

The world famous tennis player Rafael Nadal is from the Mallorcan town of Manacor. Often referred to as the “king of clay*, the ambidextrous (writes with his right hand, plays tennis with his left) was traines on the island by his uncle who was also a professional tennis player in his day.

Es Trenc is one of Mallorca’s most famous beaches, particularly known for its rugged, wild beauty. With two kilometers (1.2 miles) of white sand and crystal-clear turquoise waters, it is no surprise that it is one of the most popular spots on the island. Over 500’000 people visit this beach every year, and it is estimated that visitors take away 25 tons of sand (on towels, feet and swimwear).

MALLORCA

Wunderschöne Küste, abgelegene Buchten, Kalkstein-Berge, Spanische Architektur, Weingute, Farmen voller frischer Produkte und atemberaubende Strände

Mallorca (auch Majorca) ist eine spanische Insel im westlichen Mittelmeerraum und gehört zum autonomen Archipel der Balearen. Die Insel ist Teil der Europäischen Union. 180 Buchten sind ziemlich gleichmässig entlang der Küste der Insel verteilt. Im Nordwesten erstreckt sich das Tramuntana-Gebirge über etwa 90 Kilometer. Die Berge bieten beiindruckende 11 Bergspitzen mit über 1000 m.ü.M. Der höchste Berg der Insel heisst Puig Major und ist 1445 m hoch.

Das Klima auf Mallorca ist subtropisch mit warmen bis heissen Sommern und milden Wintern. Fast 50 % der Inselbevölkerung lebt in der Inselhauptstadt Palma de Mallorca.

Alle sind überrascht von der Klarheit des Meeres an der mallorquinischen Küste, aber wissen nicht weshalb das so ist. Der Meeresboden der Insel ist reich an zynischem Posidonia; einer Alge, die das Wasser mit Sauerstoff versorgt und es deshalb viel transparenter macht. Ein Paradies für Schnorchler und Schwimmer.
Das berühmte Magazin The Times wählte Palma 2015 zur Stadt mit der höchsten Lebensqualität.

Buchen Deine Aktiven Ferien Jetzt

Gut zu wissen

LAND

Kanton

Sprachen

WÄHRUNG

FLÄCHE

BEVÖLKERUNG

Spanien
Balearische Inseln
Katalanisch (offizielle Sprache) - Mallorqui (Dialekt) - Kastilianisches Spanisch (zweite, offizielle Sprache)
EUR (Euro)
3'603 KM2
923’608 (2019)

Land

Spanien

Kanton

Balearische Inseln

Sprachen

Katalanisch (offizielle Sprache) - Mallorqui (Dialekt) - Kastilianisches Spanisch (zweite, offizielle Sprache)

Währung

EUR (Euro)

Fläche

3'603 KM2

Bevölkerung

923’608 (2019)

Mehr Details

Mallorca ist die Heimat der Ensaimadas, einer lokalen Süssigkeit, die nur auf der Insel erhältlich ist.

Auf der Insel gibt es viele, grosse und spektakuläre Höhlensysteme. Die bekanntesten heissen Cuevas del Drach und befinden sich in Porto Cristo. Diese Höhlen wurden zum ersten Mal im späten, 18. Jahrhundert entdeckt und beinhalten Europas grösste Unterwasser-Höhle (auch eine der grössten der Welt).

Der weltbekannte Tennisspieler Rafael Nadal kommt aus der mallorquinischen Stadt Manacor. Oft als «Der König des Sandplatzes» bezeichnet, wurde der Beidhänder auf der Insel von seinem Onkel trainiert, welcher auch ein ehemaliger, professioneller Profi-Spieler ist.

Es Trenc ist einer von Mallorca’s berühmtesten Stränden; auch bekannt für sein raue, wilde Schönheit. Mit zwei Kilometern (1.2 Meilen) weissem Sand und kristallklarem, türkis-blauem Wasser ist es keine Überraschung, dass er als einer der populärsten Sehenswürdigkeiten der Insel gilt. Über 500’000 Menschen besuchen diesen Strand jedes Jahr und es wird geschätzt, dass sie dabei 25 Tonnen Sand vom Strand mitnehmen (auf Badetüchern, an den Füssen oder direkt an den Schwimmkleidern).

Make memories with us